4 Types of Blockchain

There are currently four types of blockchain: public, private, hybrid, and consortium.

Blockchain is a unique technology because it is both a data structure and a protocol.

Here’s a quick overview:

Public blockchains are permissionless in nature, allow anyone to join, and are completely decentralized. This means that public blockchains do not rely on any central authority to validate transactions. A great example of this type of blockchain is Bitcoin.

Private blockchains however, are permissioned blockchains controlled by a single organization. In a private blockchain, the central authority determines who can be a node and how each node will behave within the network.

Finally, there are hybrid blockchains and consortorium blockchains. Hybrid blockchains are controlled by a single organization, but with a level of oversight performed by the public blockchain, which is required to perform certain transaction validations. . Consortium blockchains are permissioned blockchains governed by a group of organizations, rather than one entity, as in the case of the private blockchain. Consortium blockchains therefore enjoy more decentralization. Stay tuned to GWOP Magazine for more blockchain info.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: