Spike Lee’s “Malcolm X” selected for 2010 National Film Registry

The National Film Registry is the United States National Film Preservation Board’s selection of films for preservation in the Library of Congress.  The National Film Registry names to its list up to 25 “culturally, historically, or aesthetically significant films” each year, showcasing the range and diversity of American film heritage to increase awareness for its preservation.


Malcolm X (1992)
Director Spike Lee’s biographical film about the life of civil rights leader Malcom X was produced in the classical Hollywood style. Featuring an Oscar-nominated performance by Denzel Washington, the film exemplifies the willingness of the American film industry in the early ‘90s to support the making of mainstream films about earlier generations of social leaders.

“Denzel was robbed of an Oscar back in 1992.” -K.B. (GWOP Magazine)

Other notable films recognized by Library of Congress National Film Registry:  “Do the Right Thing” (directed by Spike Lee) “Boyz N The Hood” (directed by John Singleton) “Citizen Kane” (directed by Orson Welles) “Goodfellas” (directed by Martin Scorsese)   “Thiller” (Michael Jackson Music Video)

Full strory click here

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: